To register your Oregon LLC, you’ll need to file the Articles of Organization with the Oregon Secretary of State. You can apply online or by mail. Read our Form an LLC in Oregon guide for details. To register your Oregon corporation, you’ll need to file the Articles of Incorporation with the Oregon Secretary of State.
Do you have to register a business name in Oregon?
The law requires people doing business in Oregon under an assumed name to register it as a public record with the Oregon Secretary of State Corporation Division. … It’s just like when you create a business, such as a corporation or limited liability company, the required organization documents must be filed with us.
Does Oregon require DBA?
Oregon law requires all businesses using a different name register that name with a DBA filed with the Oregon Secretary of State Corporation Division. Even though it is the law to file a DBA, doing so makes it legal for the company to open bank accounts, sign contracts, receive payment and more with the trade name.
How do I set up a DBA in Oregon?
In Oregon, you register your DBA with the Secretary of State. You can file online at Oregon’s Secretary of State website or you can complete the application for registration of an assumed business name form.
How do you submit a business name?
To register the name of a partnership, LLC or corporation:
- Check existing names and reserve a name not already in use by mail or in person with the Secretary of State.
- File a fictitious name statement with your county clerk’s office, if applicable.
- Register your business as a legal entity (e.g., LLC or corporation).
What is the cost to register a business name in Oregon?
To do so in Oregon, you must register your assumed name with the Oregon Secretary of State. You may register online, or complete and mail an Assumed Business Name–New Registration form. The filing fee is $50. The registration must be renewed every two years.
How much does it cost to get a business license in Oregon?
Yes, all businesses in Oregon must be registered, including those businesses operating as DBAs, assumed names, sole proprietorship, LLC, corporation, or limited partnership. The form can be filed on the Oregon Secretary of State website or mailed to the State’s Corporation Division. The filing fee is $50.
How much does a DBA cost in Oregon?
How much does a DBA cost in Oregon? The filing fee to register a DBA in Oregon is $50. Name filings need to be renewed every two years.
What is difference between DBA and LLC?
A DBA is not a type of business, but a registration that serves only one purpose – it gives you the ability to do business under a new name. If you form an LLC, you will enjoy benefits beyond name registration, such as limiting your personal liability for the debts of the business.
What is the difference between DBA and fictitious name?
DBA is an abbreviation of “doing business as.” In some states, businesses need to file for DBA or fictitious names to protect their customers. … A fictitious name has the same meaning as a DBA, and both terms are interchangeable.
What is an assumed business name in Oregon?
An assumed business name registration is required any time you are conducting business under a name other than true and legal name of each person conducting the business.
How can I make my business name official?
Registering a trademark for a company name is pretty straightforward. Many businesses can file an application online in less than 90 minutes, without a lawyer’s help. The simplest way to register is on the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office’s Web site, www.uspto.gov.
How do I protect my business name?
Trademark. A trademark can protect the name of your business, goods, and services at a national level. Trademarks prevent others in the same (or similar) industry in the United States from using your trademarked names.